Congratulations 2023 Graduates and Award Recipients!

May 15, 2023

          graduates stand at ceremony

            student raising hand   student and faculty posing w/ diploma

       student w/ facultystudent shaking faculty's hand

          faculty receiving award  staff receiving award

Congratulations to all our CS students who graduated over the weekend!

We would also like to congratulate our faculty, staff, and students who were honored with awards at commencement:

Edward Peck Curtis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching: Professor George Ferguson

This award recognizes a record of distinguished undergraduate teaching, typically developed over at least eight years. Recipients also have demonstrated readiness to help less experienced faculty colleagues or teaching assistants master their craft. Professor George Ferguson, codirector of the computer science undergraduate program, is one of three 2023 recipients. Learn more.

Edmund A. Hajim Outstanding Staff Award: Sara Klinkbeil

This award recognizes the excellence and dedication of a staff member that goes beyond the call of duty to their department and the Hajim School of Engineering & Applied Sciences. Sara Klinkbeil was one of two undergraduate program coordinators to receive this year’s award. Computer science students, faculty, and staff called Sara a steadying force for the department who provides outstanding leadership and dedication. Learn more.


Donald M. Barnard Prize: Yufei Zhao

This award goes to engineering students on the basis of personal qualification and achievement

Harold Hook Prize: Erin Gibson

This award is presented to students who have demonstrated outstanding interest in engineering and have conducted research, given a presentation, or published a paper

Charles L. Newton Prize: Henry Welles

This award recognizes engineering students who show a special proficiency in an engineering subject and have conducted research, given a presentation, or published a paper

Lisa Norwood Student Endowment Fund Prize: Justin Pimentel

This award recognizes students who have shown commitment and service to the Hajim School by building community and belonging


Award for Outstanding Teaching Assistant(s):Henry Welles

This award is given to a student who has provided outstanding support to professors as a teaching assistant or workshop leader during his or her undergraduate career.

Entrepreneurship Award: Chem Chikweze

This award is given to a student who has embodied the entrepreneurial spirit by creating a computing product or service and pursued its commercial development.

UR Women & Minorities in Computing Leadership Award: Jules Stewart
This award is given to a student who has made a significant contribution to leadership, to the design of programs and activities that build a stronger community in CSC, and to a level of service and a creative enthusiasm for UR WiC-MiC

Most Valuable Programmer(s): Quan Luu and Bao Tran

These students have been valued members of various programming teams such as the Association for Computing Machinery – ICPC team and the CS Games team, strengthening URCS’ visibility among top schools.

Excellence in Undergraduate Research: Yurong Liu, Yun Long Xu, Henry Welles, Adira Blumenthal, Dillanie Sumanthiran, Sizhe Li, Yufei Zhao
This award is given to a student who has worked with an advisor on significant research, received awards or presented at conferences, or has been published as a result of his or her work.

Outstanding Senior(s): Erin Gibson and Peirong Hao
This award is given to a student who has made outstanding contributions to the Department and its undergraduate program in academics, research, and student leadership, and who has gained the respect and appreciation of the Department community.

       group of students two students w/ flowers

student posing w/ diplomas three students posing with graduate 2 students w/ diplomas

              students posing for picture